Roy W. Dean Grant Summer 2020 Finalists

Congratulations to the films selected to be Roy W. Dean Grant Finalist for our 2020 Summer Grant.

26 films were chosen to be considered for the grant.  On this page, we give each filmmaker the opportunity to tell the world about their film.  They choose the pictures and loglines.  Some may choose not to reveal their projects on this page and we respect their wishes.   

Since 1992, From the Heart Productions has supported filmmakers with cash and substantial professional discounts from our film industry partners, averaging an estimated $30,000 per filmmaker.  The Roy W. Dean grants program, with several annual deadlines, has grown into one of the most sought after competitions in the world.

The Roy W. Dean Grant funds unique films that make a contribution to society.  It gives filmmakers with great stories told with passion the funding to get their projects started or completed.

Grant Application Button Transparent

2020 Summer Grant Finalists

Search Listings

the smallest steps


Image: Please upload an image CROPPED TO 500px WIDE

What does it take to have a voice? What sustains people on the long road from fear and silence to courage and action? For women whose voices are often suppressed, the journey is full of challenges. Many quit along the way. But in Ottawa, Ontario, two law students and two mothers have decided to take a stand and join the anti-violence movement. The only trouble is, they don’t know how to be activists.

Together and on their own, these women must find the courage to speak out, risking stigmatization and burnout along the way. If they can overcome the personal and political barriers that threaten to derail them, they will join a long legacy of courageous women who refuse to be silenced.



Previous Roy W. Dean Summer Grant Winners

2019 – Heather Dune Macadam for 999: The Extraordinary Young Women of the First Official Jewish Transport to Auschwitz

2018 – Allison Otto and Maria Clinton for The Love Bugs

2017 – Erika Cohn for Belly of the Beast

2016 – Rob Herring for The Need to Grow

2015 – Chelo Alvarez Stehle for Sands of Silence

2014 – Rachel Elizabeth Seed for A Photographic Memory

2013 – Jason Grant Smith for I Voted? – A Non-Partisan Documentary

2012 – Alicia Brauns for The Mosaic of Life

2011 – Leslie Neale for Unlikely Friends

2010 – Sara Maamouri & Jesse Deeter for Burned

2009 – Lori Miller for Shakespeare High

2008 – Karin Mak for Red Dust

2007 – Chelo Alavarez for Sold in America



We thank our Community Partners for their continued support!